Awards Presented by the S2A3

The South Africa Medal (Gold)

The South Africa Medal [Gold] is awarded by the S2A3 to the most outstanding scientist nominated who has contributed both locally and internationally in his particular field of science. Most winners of this award have established themselves as exceptional scientists for many years. However, the award has also been made to very young scientists in the past e.g. Professor JPF Sellschop and Professor PV Tobias.

This prestigious award recognizes the exceptional contribution to the advancement of science, on a broad front or in a specialized field, by an eminent South African scientist. The recipient traditionally delivers the annual Marloth Commemorative Lecture. Among the many so honoured have been Professors Phillip Tobias, JPF Sellschop, Brian Warner, Pieter Stoker, GFR Ellis, MC Kew and CF Cresswell, Jan H van der Merwe as well as Drs CF Garbers, RR Arndt, DR Woods and Bob Brain.

The British Association Medal (Silver)

The silver medal is awarded to a person under the age of 40 who is actively engaged in research and has, by way of international participation and publications, shown outstanding capability and achievement. It is one of the highest awards granted for original scientific research in South Africa. Recipients have included Professors DA McNamara, Ortrud Oerllermann, JSJ van Deventer and BM Herbst, JH Enslin, EH Mathews, Wayne Goddard, OC de Jager, and Dr SH Connell.

S2A3 Medal and S2A3 Medal (Technikon)

This award is sponsored by S2A3. It serves to commend and encourage local science students at Masters level. The award is made at the discretion of each university and university of technology to the best masters degree student in a scientific discipline.

Merit Certificates

Over the years numerous awards have been made to people who have contributed, each in their own way, to either the advancement of science or the association's activities. Previous recipients have included Dr Graham Baker, Professor Johan Wolfaardt, Dr Freek Kok, Professor Michael Wingfield, Dr R Rollnick, Dr Frans Korb, Mrs Ursula Ortner (posthumously), Messrs Marinus Wijnbeek, Fritz van Rooyen and Dr Glyn Jones. The 2002 recipients of this award were the 50/50 team, Professor Will Alexander, Dr Bob Brain, Dr Phil Minnaar, Professor Peter Tyson, and Dr John Vogel. Professor Govert van Drimmelen was awarded a special Centenary award for his contribution to the advancement of Science, as well as for his work for the Association.

Lists of award winners

South Africa Medal (Gold) winners

British Association Medal - Silver

Merit Certificate Winners